About the National Host Committee

The National Host Committee is a non-profit organization established in 2014 to support Hawaii’s commitment to host the IUCN World Conservation Congress 2016.


The mission of the National Host Committee is to welcome local, regional and international communities to the IUCN World Conservation Congress 2016, to address the challenges of a “Planet at the Crossroads” and to celebrate achievements of the U.S. and Hawaii in environmental stewardship, bio cultural sustainability and economic leadership.


The Host Committee is comprised of 17 representatives from public, private and NGO organizations.


The Honorable Daniel K. Akaka
U.S. Senator, Retired

Thomas Lovejoy
Professor, Department of Environmental Science and Policy George Mason University


Enrique J. Lahman, Ph.D.
Global Director – Union Development Group Director, IUCN Constituency Support Group

Laura Bowen Wills
Director, Office of Major Events and Conferences Staff U.S. Department of State


Timothy E. Johns (Chair)
Chief Consumer Officer, Hawaii Medical Service Association

Chipper R. Wichman, Jr. (Vice-Chair)
President, CEO and Director, National Tropical Botanical Garden

William J. Aila, Jr.
Deputy Chair, Hawaii Department of Hawaiian Homelands

Suzanne Case
Chair, Hawaii Department of Land & Natural Resources

Blair Collis

Celeste Connors
Executive Director, Green Growth Hawaii

Kamanaopono M. Crabbe, Ph.D.
Ka Pouhana, Chief Executive Officer, Office of Hawaiian Affairs

Christopher P. Dunn, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Cornell Botanic Gardens

Linda Lee Kuuleilani “Cissy” Farm
Interim President and CEO, Bernice Pauahi Bishop Museum

Peter S. Ho
Chairman, President and CEO, Bank of Hawaii

David Lassner
President, University of Hawaii

Mike McCartney
Chief of Staff, Office of the Governor, State of Hawaii

Charles E. Morrison
President, East-West Center

George Szigeti
President and CEO, Hawaii Tourism Authority